Animal residents of the Mutant house Project

 

At this current time my Dog’s and I are the only residents of the Mutanthouse project, in time and once more living space becomes liveable, I am hoping to open it to artists and families who need or want a fresh start, as well as domestic violence  survivors who want to  turn a new leaf. The final goal is to build a solid community that is willing to change the world around them, though action art and by being a living example how balanced living can function in an imperfect world. By offering community services, such as a vegan soup kitchen, community garden and helping people get off the grid; I also hope to improve the life quality of the impoverished neighbourhood and town I reside in. In the long run maybe even engage in worldwide projects, such as helping other create their own sustainable communities and projects, and occasional trips into disaster areas to help people rebuild.

 

Mutanthouse is however not only supposed to be a refuge for humans but also for the animal population. I would like to transform a portion of the property into a Dog playground and sanctuary for the existing rescue dogs living here, as well as further additions in the future. A cat garden with little cat houses is planned for the multitude of stray cats of my neighbourhood, who live sad and desperate lives. Once the cat garden is set up I am hoping to get funds together to spay and neuter the strays and to get them the medical attention they need. Most of them are born and bred outside and extremely feral, so a beautiful cat garden with climate controlled sleeping houses and regular food would be the best option for them. But that is all in the Future, The current Animal residents are mostly older dogs, dogs with behavioural problems and seniors. From some of my other posts you might know that I have been out of work for the last two years and keeping this roof over our head has been a struggle, if it were not for help from amazing people, like Sue Rogers from Ruff love rescue we would have been in dire straits a long time ago.

 

Quantum physics tell us that in many ways we create our reality with our mindset so I would like to see our struggles as part of our past but give t no power in the now and in our future. In the now the Animal residents of Mutant house are eight dogs of varying age. Who I would like to introduce here:

Luna my oldest came with me to the United States from Berlin. She is 10yesrs old and a peaceful gentile soul, who has fostered many puppies and kittens as her own. Luna was rescued in 2001 when she and her siblings where left to starve to death on the property of her mother’s owner. At the time my vet and I got him to give the puppies to us and I decided to keep Luna.

 

Romeo and April moon flower Aka (moo) are bull mastiff chow mixes, If you did not know it you would never think they where siblings. Romeo is very friendly and outgoing; his sister is a lovable mess with some fear aggression tendencies that she exhibits mostly towards men. Once she gets to know and trust people she is very caring and timid, but fear aggression did not make her a good candidate to be adopted.  Romeo had been adopted out but was returned to me because the new family decided that he was going to be too big and was going to end up on a chain. Once returned he looked so happy to be back home I never had the heart to adopt him out, both Romeo and Moo are eight years old.

Shadow and her sister summer were left in my care for what was supposed to be a two week vacation trip of her owner. In the end the owner  never picked them up , after four weeks I called her and she  told me she had decided to give them up , she worded it exactly so . Not one minute did she ask or inform me of these plans -some people are just incredible 😛  Summer stayed with me for 3 years and then found a great forever home through Ruff love Rescue. Shadow stayed with me because she has some behavioural issues. She is too smart for her own good, knows how to open the fridge, kitchen cabinets and the like, she gets along with other dogs but occasionally picks fights over food. She also has a strong preference for women and does not like children, while these traits are manageable for me, combined with her black colouring it makes her an unlikely candidate for adoption; Shadow is six years old.

Lucky is Romeos son with Shadows Sister Summer. Summer-yup my fault entirely because I had not yet spayed and neutered either of them and my boyfriend of the time thought it was funny to let them breed. Ditched the boyfriend kept the dog 😛 …Lucky is a sweet, friendly, most generously loving dog and it is a tragedy that he did not adopted out like his siblings . Mostly it is attributed to his colouring; sadly people generally do not want black dogs 😦 Lucky is 5 years old

 

Summer and Moo where in heat at the same time and the day my ex let Romeo into the room where I kept the girls both of them where knocked up.  The whole situation at the time was volatile with my ex, and  domestic violence  was prominent during that time of my life , he had control over my finances, my life and in many parts my freedom –  and I at the time was to weak to protest.  I guess you live and you learn I am no longer that woman, and the stronger me has evolved into a strong advocate of spaying and neutering. Considering all the poor unwanted animals living amongst us it is for now the only responsible choice.

 

Well back to the puppies, Romeo knocked Moo up as well thankfully though she birthed only two children Moobert Oi and Mooria Georgina. Both were born premature and needed a lot of care, both have some behaviour issues that make them unlikely candidates for adoption. Mooria is extremely dominant and needs to be supervised with other dogs; Moobert Oi has severe anxiety, but is otherwise sweet and friendly. Still they will need special surroundings and care for the rest of their life and would probably be put down anywhere else.  Both Moobert and Mooria are five years old.

When I left Paul I took my dogs with me and was at full capacity Animal wise, but there was this little pit-bull 2 month old left on a chain in the full NC, heat, no water no shelter, she was dying and I couldn’t just walk away and do nothing. I talked to her owner and he told me well why you don’t get her water I just don’t have the time , I couldn’t leave he  there that is how Jubilee became part of my family , and the entity taking most of the room in my bed. Jubilee is the sweetest thing; guess she did not read her job description as Pittbull 😉 Jubilee is three and half years old.

None of my Dogs are up for adoption we have been family for too long, I do not consider myself their owner either, I am their guardian, in many ways their Alpha and mother. When I call people owners it is more of a derogatory stamen reserved for those who treat their animals like property. My animals are family and Mutanthouse is just as much, If not more, for them as for me.  And my house transforms I will be transformed and maybe  find healing in the process, and when others come  they will hopefully  find it a place to rest a while , or longer and find  the balance that we as a spices  so direly lack .

 

One response to “Animal residents of the Mutant house Project

  1. Pingback: Unusual

Leave a Reply

